Who We Are

Lucas Stapleton Johnson & Partners Pty Ltd is a Sydney based heritage planning and architectural firm specialising in conservation, adaptation, and restoration of historic buildings and conservation planning.

The firm undertakes work ranging from academically based conservation projects for public institutions to adaptation of large commercial buildings, to house restorations with modern living in mind.  The basis of the firm’s work has always been thorough historical research before works begin.

Established in 1970 by John Fisher and Clive Lucas, as Fisher Lucas, in 1977, Ian Stapleton joined the firm, and it was renamed Clive Lucas Stapleton & Partners.  Sean Johnson joined as a partner in 2014 and the firm became known as Lucas Stapleton Johnson & Partners.  Today the firm is led by Sean Johnson, architect and Kate Denny, heritage planner.

Since 1975, the firm has received over 50 Australian Institute of Architects awards, including 24 Merit Awards, 8 Architecture Awards and 2 Commendation Awards.  The firm is the recipient of 7 Greenway Awards for restoration and 9 Lachlan Macquarie Awards for the best conservation project nationally.  In addition, the firm has won numerous awards from the National Trust of Australia (NSW) and local councils.

The firm has been involved with some of the most significant sites in Sydney and NSW including the adaptation of the Woolloomooloo Finger Wharf, the Sydney GPO, NSW Parliament House, Hyde Park Barracks, The Mint and the University of Sydney amongst many others.